Trips/ Viajes

Morocco 1st. part- Marruecos 1era. parte

[Español below] One of the best trips I’ve ever done by far. Not only because of the place itself but also because it was just what I needed at the time: traveling on my own, a new culture, fresh air, new experiences (surfing for the first time and doing yoga by the sea), finding myself again 🙂

I traveled from Dublin to Marrakesh and then I took a taxi to Taghazout, a small village about 40 minutes by car from Agadir city where I had booked my stay. I have to confess I was a bit scared when I arrived in Marrakesh because of everything I’d heard about Moroccan people (that you could be exchanged for camels for instance) but nothing like that happened to me and everybody was sooooo nice to me. The Moroccan people I met there seemed very chilled and kind, I really enjoyed that.

The taxi took about four hours to get to Taghazout Village. It was a long journey that started late in the night but the taxi driver, who was bringing a friend as well, was very kind and funny.

I finally arrived in this simple but gorgeous hotel called Dfrost Almugar and found out that they kept an apartment with a balcony with view to the sea just for myself as the single rooms were all full (happy days!).

My package included surf and yoga lessons every day with instructors. There were two yoga lessons during the day, the first one was at 7.00 am with the sunrise and the second one was at 6.00pm when most of us were back from a long day of surfing.

I just fell in love with Morocco while doing my first yoga lesson on the terrace facing the sunrise (such a lovely feeling).

Let’s start then with the photos. I will try to place them following the order of my stay. 

I hope I can transmit at least a bit of this fantastic experience in such an amazing place.

[Español] Uno de los mejores viajes que he hecho, lejos. No solo por el lugar en sí sino porque fue lo que necesitaba en ese momento: viajar sola, conocer una cultura nueva, nuevos aires, nuevas experiencias (hacer surf por primera vez y yoga junto al mar), y encontrarme conmigo misma otra vez.

Viajé desde Dublín hasta Marrakech y de ahí tomé un taxi a Taghazout, una pequeña villa a unos 40 minutos de Agadir City. Confieso que cuando aterricé en Marrakech estaba un poco asustada porque me venían diciendo que tuviera cuidado con los marroquíes (me contaron entre otras cosas que suelen intercambiar mujeres por camellos), pero nada por suerte me pasó y la realidad es que toda la gente marroquí que conocí me cayó super bien, gente muy amable y simpática.

El taxi tardó unas cuatro horas en llegar a Taghazout, el viaje fue de noche y a pesar de ser largo por suerte el taxista, que hasta traía a un amigo, era muy simpático.

Finalmente llegué al hotel, simple pero hermoso, se llama Dfrost Almugar. Cuando llegué me dijeron que me habían reservado un departamento con balcón y vista al mar para mi sola porque las habitaciones individuales ya estaban todas ocupadas (mucha suerte tuve).

Mi paquete incluía clases de surf y yoga todos los días. Tenía dos clases de yoga por día, una a las 7.00 am justo al amanecer y otra a las 6.00pm cuando volvíamos la mayoría de un día largo de surf.

De Marruecos me enamoré apenas hice mi primer clase de yoga a la mañana siguiente, mirando el amanecer desde la terraza (me acuerdo y se me pone la piel de gallina).

Bueno comencemos con las fotos (lo que más disfruto de hacer en mi blog), voy a intentar ponerlas de acuerdo al orden de mi estadía. 

Espero poder transmitir al menos un poquito de lo fantástico de este lugar.

copy-of-img_3126
My first yoga lesson at the hotel’s terrace. Mi primer clase de yoga en la terraza del hotel.
img_2979
A better shot from the terrace and the picture which became my favorite icon. Una toma mejor desde la terraza y que luego se convertirá en mi ícono favorito.
copy-of-img_3110
View from my balcony – Morning. Vista desde mi balcón por la mañana.
copy-of-img_3178
View from my balcony – Afternoon. Vista desde mi balcón por la tarde.
img_3022
First day on the beach, first time surfing!. Primer día de playa y de surfear!
img_2999
It was a rough beach but I liked it that way. Era una playa salvaje y desértica pero así tal cual me gustaba.

The best view is coming now… It was just speechless.

[Español] La mejor vista viene ahora.. No tengo palabras para describirlo.

copy-of-img_3043
Imssouan beach, north of Taghazout. Playa Imssouan al norte de Taghazout.

copy-of-img_3046

copy-of-img_3121
Moroccan mint tea. Té de menta marroquí.

copy-of-img_3057

copy-of-img_3064

img_3106

I’ll stop here before I bore you… Will come back next week with the second part of this trip. Your feedback is more than welcome as this is my first post about a trip, hope you enjoyed it 🙂

Voy a parar acá antes de que te aburras. La semana que viene volveré con la segunda parte de este viaje, los comentarios sobre qué te pareció son más que bienvenidos ya que este fue mi primer posteo sobre un viaje. Espero lo hayas disfrutado 🙂

Click Here to Morocco 2nd Part – Marruecos 2da Parte